Tel: +254 20 762 5634 | Mail: info@theargeo.org




  • Global and African Geothermal Picture

    1.

    World Outlook for Geothermal Electricity and Direct Use: 2016

    Ludvik S. Georgsson

    UNU-GTP

    lsg@os.is

    2.

    Characteristics and Occurrence of Geothermal Resources in Africa

    GETAHUN Demissie Gemeda

    getahun.demissie578@gmeil.com
    getahun.demissie578@yahoo.com

    3.

    Launch of the Proceedings of the Western Rift

    P. Omenda, C. Ebinger, W. Nelson, D. Delvaux, W. Cumming, L. Marini, S. Halldorsson, J. Varet, K. Arnason, G. Ruempker, K. Alexander, M. Zemedkum

    4.

    Launch of Africa Geothermal Inventory Database (AGID) Web GIS

    Eugene Apindi Ochieng, Ryan Ndombi, Meseret Zemedkun, Moses Mbego, Christine Gachuru.

    UN Environment

    eugene.ochieng@unep.org

    Break out Sessions: Parallel 1 - Country Updates

    No.

    Title Of Presentation

    Author(s)

    Organization/Country

    Contacts

    1.

    GEOTHERMAL DEVELOPMENT IN COMOROS

    Mohamed Chaheire Mohamed Chamassi

    BUREAU GEOLOGIQUE DES COMORES

    chaheire@yahoo.fr

    2.

    GEOTHERMAL DEVELOPMENT IN DJIBOUTI REPUBLIC

    OMAR ABDILLAHI ASSOWEH

    DJIBOUTIAN OFFICE FOR GEOTHERMAL ENERGY DEVELOPMENT ODDEG

    omar.abdillahi.assoweh@gmail.com

    3.

    CASE OF THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

    KASEREKA MAHINDA Célestin

    Secretaire Permanent, Developpement des Ressources Geothermiques, Nord Kivu, DRC

    mahindageophys@gmail.com

    4.

    Status of Geothermal Exploration and Development in Ethiopia

    Solomon Kebede

    Geological Survey Of Ethiopia

    solo450354@yahoo.com

    5.

    KENYA COUNTRY UPDATE

    PEKETSA MANGI AND DR. PETER OMENDA

    pmangi@kengen.co.ke
    pomenda@gmail.com

    6.

    Malawi Country update

    CHARLESON NAMANDWA ELIYASI

    GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MALAWI

    celiyasi@yahoo.com

    7.

    Status of Geothermal Development in Mozambique

    Ministry of Mineral Resource and Energy

    8.

    Geothermal Resource Exploration in Rwanda

    Uwera Rutagarama

    EDCL

    uwera.ruta@gmail.com

    9.

    Geothermal Development in Tanzania

    Kato Kabaka

    TGDC

    Kato.Kabaka@tanesco.co.tz

    10.

    GEOTHERMAL ENERGY DEVELOPMENT IN UGANDA

    Godfrey Bahati

    Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development,

    gbahati@gmail.com

    11.

    ZAMBIA: Country Update and Bwengwa River Resource

    Abel Chavula and Peter Vivian-Neal

    ZESCO and Kalahari GeoEnergy Ltd

    achavula@zesco.co.zm
    peter.vivian-neal@kalaharigeoenergy.com

    12.

    Geothermal Country Update for Iceland

    Arni Ragnarsson

    Iceland GeoSurvey, ISOR, Reykjavik, Iceland

    Arni.Ragnarsson@isor.is

    13.

    Geothermal Development Program and Status in Indonesia

    Surya Darma

    Indonesia Geothermal Association (INAGA) and Indonesia Renewable Energy Society (METI - IRES)

    suryadarma.za@gmail.com

    14.

    Challenges in Financing Geothermal Projects-case studies for developing countries

    Hezy Ram

    hezyram@gmail.com

    15.

    Harvesting Best Practices- A Comparison of Kenyan and Turkish Geothermal Project Aspects

    Mike Long

    Power Engineers

    mike.long@powereng.com

    16.

    The Distribution and Characteristics of Geothermal Resources in Africa

    Getahun Dimissie

    getahun.dimissie578@yahoo.com,

    17.

    Fast Tracking Geothermal development Case study- Olkaria Field in Kenya

    Cyrus Karingithi

    KENGEN

    ckaringithi@kengen.co.ke

    Plenary Session 2: Financing Geothermal Projects in the East Africa Region.

    1.

    Geothermal Exploration Project

    David Bjarnason

    ICEIDA and NDF

    david.bjarnason@utn.stjr.is

    2.

    EAGER, DFID Funded Programme

    John Heath

    EAGER- DFID

    john.heath@eager-facility.com

    3.

    U.S. East Africa Geothermal Partnership

    Andrew Palmeteer

    Power Africa-USAID

    apalmateer@usea.org

    4.

    Review of JICAs Geothermal Projects in 2016 and Introduction of projects to be implemented

    Mayumi Hayashi

    JICA

    mayumi.hayashi@me.com

    5.

    World Bank Support to Geothermal in East Africa.

    Thrainn Fridriksson,

    World Bank

    tfridriksson@worldbank.org

    6.

    Financing greenfield geothermal projects

    Eyob Easwaran

    Plenary Session 3: Strategy and policy for Geothermal Development in power generation and direct use application

    1.

    Strategy and Scenario for development of Geothermal Resources in the East Africa Region

    Meseret T. Zemedkun

    UNEP

    meseret.zemedkun@unep.org

    2.

    Ethiopia Geothermal Law and Regulatory issues that support development of geothermal power

    Sahle Tamru

    Ministry of Water Irrigation and Electricity Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

    3.

    STRATEGIES FOR DEVELOPMENT OF GEOTHERMAL IN AFRICA BY IPPs

    Markos Melaku and Thorleifur Finnsson

    4.

    From Project based to Matured Institutional Support- The African Geothermal center of Excellence, AGCE

    Meseret Zemedkun/Rashid Abdallah

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 1: Exploration (Geology)

    1.

    THE SEARCH FOR VOLCANIC HEAT SOURCES IN TANZANIA

    Kraml, M., Kaudse, T., Aeschbach, W. & Tanzanian Exploration Team

    kraml@geo-t.de

    2.

    DRONES IN GEOTHERMAL EXPLORATION

    Mark Harvey,Colin Harvey, JJulie Rowland and Katherine Luketina

    HARVEY GEOSCIENCE LIMITED

    C.Harvey@gns.cri.nz

    3.

    Stratigraphy Hydrothermal alteration and paleo-thermal history of the olkaria-domes

    Xavier Musonye

    KENGEN

    xmusonye@kengen.co.ke

    4.

    Regional Quantitative Play fairway

    Nicholas H. Hinz, Mark Coolbaugh, James E. Faulds, Lisa Shevenell, and Pete Stelling

    nhinz@unr.edu

    5.

    ALUTO-LANGANO GEOTHERMAL FIELD PROPOSAL OF A NEW GEO VOLCANOLOGICAL MODEL

    T. Abebe , C. Pasqua , S. Kebede

    tsegaye.abebe28@gmail.com

    6.

    Use of leapfrog GEOTHERMAL DATA INTEGRATION

    Risper Kandie, Pearce Mbuthia and Jim Stimac

    7.

    HIGH TEMPERATURE HYDROTHERMAL ALTERATION IN ACTIVE GEOTHERMAL SYSTEMS

    James A. Nyandigisi and Christine Nyamvula

    KENGEN

    8.

    Assessing Evolution Mechanism and Hydrothermal Alteration Effects on Bulk rock Chemistry

    Victor Otieno

    KENGEN

    kotienovic@gmail.com

    9.

    GEOTHERMAL MAPPING IN MIDDALUR FIELD HENGILL AREA

    Patrick Muanza Kant

    muanzapatrick@gmail.com

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 2: Exploration (Geophysics)

    1.

    Resistivity study of the Tulu Moye geothermal Prospect in Ethiopia.

    Hajlmar Eysteinsson

    Reykjavik Geothermal

    hjalmar@rg.is

    2.

    INTERGRATED GEOPHYSICAL MODEL FOR SUSWA GEOTHERMAL PROSPECT

    Raymond Mwakirani

    GDC

    rmwakirani@gdc.co.ke

    3.

    Three-dimensional geophysical modelling of the Alalobeda geothermal field

    Daniele Rizzello

    rizzello@tellus-explora.eu

    4.

    PROCESSING AND JOINT 1D INVERSION OF MT AND TEM DATA FROM ALALLOBEDA GEOTHERMAL FIELD IN TENDAHO

    Getenesh Hailegiorgis Abebe

    Geological Survey of Ethiopia

    getenesh19@gmail.com
    getegio@yahoo.com

    5.

    Preliminary Microgravity Measurements in paka.

    Levi Shako and Calistus Ndongoli

    GDC

    lshako@gdc.co.ke

    6.

    INVESTIGATION OF GEOLOGICAL STRUCTURES USING ELECTROMAGNETIC DOWN-HOLE TEMPERATURE GEOLOGICAL WELL LOGS AND GRAVITY METHOD ON PETREL PLATFORM

    Ammon Omiti

    KENGEN

    ammonoja@gmail.com

    7.

    Technical review of geothermal potential of Kibiro springs.

    Kenneth B. (Keg) Alexander,

    Middle Earth Geoscience, Auckland, New Zealand

    keg@middleearthgeo.co.nz

    8.

    2D INVERSION OF MT DATA TO DELINEATE THE RESISTIVITY STRUCTURE OF KIBIRO GEOTHERMAL PROSPECT

    Eriya KAHWA

    kahwaeriya@gmail.com

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 2: Direct Use of Geothermal Resources.

    1.

    Global Hot Springs Industry Update

    Charles Davidson

    Peninsula Hot Springs, Australia

    Charles@peninsulahotspring.com

    2.

    Project Review of the construction of the Geothermal Spa

    Peketsa Mangi

    KENGEN

    pmangi@kengen.co.ke

    3.

    Potential for Small Scale Direct Applications of Geothermal Fluids in Kenyas Rift Valley

    Nicholas Mariita

    nicholas.mariita@dkut.ac.ke

    4.

    Geothermal Space cooling

    Yngvi Gudmundsson)

    yg@verkis.is

    5.

    Geothermal Abattoir Processing Prefeasibility Report

    Bernard Rotich

    GDC

    brotich@gdc.co.ke

    6.

    Opportunities for direct utilization in Eburru

    Cornelius Ndetei

    KENGEN

    cndetei@kengen.co.ke

    7.

    Direct Use of Geothermal Energy -Menengai.

    Esther Nyambura

    GDC

    enyambura@gdc.co.ke

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 2: Power Plants

    1.

    Wellhead power plants.

    Yngvi Gudmundsson, Elin Hallgrimsdottir

    Verkis and Mannvit

    yg@verkis.is m

    2.

    Power System Stability Effects with Geothermal as Major Source of Power in Kenya.

    Joel Sutter and Peter Mburu

    GDC

    jrutto@gdc.co.ke
    pmburu@gdc.co.ke

    3.

    Maintenance of A Geothermal Power Plant: Olkaria 1 Additional Units (AU), Kenya.

    GEORGE NGOMI

    KENGEN

    gngomi@kengen.co.ke

    4.

    Use of Wellhead Electrical Power in Drilling Geothermal Wells in Olkaria, Kenya.

    Bernard Kigen

    KENGEN

    bkigen@kengen.co.ke

    5.

    Viability of Using Wellhead Power Plants to Accelerate Geothermal In Kenya

    Shammah Kiptanui and Ezekiel Kipyego

    GDC

    ekkipyego@gdc.co.ke

    6.

    Geothermal Space Heating in North China to Mitigate Air pollution.

    PANG Zhonghe

    Institute of Geology and Geophysics , Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

    z.pang@mail.iggcas.ac.cn

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 3: New Technologies.

    1.

    ORC Binary solutions for high enthalpy resources

    Joseph Bonafin

    Turboden – Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

    Joseph.Bonafin@turboden.it

    2.

    IMPROVING EFFICIENCY OF FLASH PLANTS BY RETRO FITTING BINARY CYCLE

    EYTAN KAPLAN

    EXERGY

    3.

    Geothermal Project Timelines.pdf

    Yngvi Gudmundsson

    VERKIS

    yg@verkis.is

    4.

    TOWARDS THE USE OF GIS IN GEOTHERMAL RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT

    Beatrice Gichini

    KENGEN

    bgichini@kengen.co.ke

    5.

    LOAD OPTIMISATION BY BLADE AND STEAM WASHING-CASE STUDY OLKARIA II

    BONFACE KIPKORIR

    KENGEN

    bcheruiyot@kengen.co.ke

    4.

    GE Oil & Gas Products and Services for Geothermal Power Generation.

    Capodanno et al.

    Stefano.Capodanno@ge.com

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 3: Exploration

    1.

    Radon Soil Geochemical Survey at Allallobeda Geothermal Field

    Asfaw Teclu

    Geological Survey of Ethiopia

    a_teclu@yahoo.com,

    2.

    Status of Geothermal Energy Exploration at Buranga Prospect Western Uganda

    James Natukunda and Godfrey Bahati

    Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development, UGANDA

    fjnatukunda@gmail.com
    gbahati@gmail.com

    3.

    Characterization of Suswa Geothermal Prospect, Kenya, from Fumarole Gas Geochemistry

    Kipngok, J.K., Jill R.H., Malimo S.J., Ochieng L.A., Igunza G.M., Mwanyasi F., Bett E.K., Kangogo S.C. and Kanda I.K.

    GDC

    jkipngok@gdc.co.ke

    4.

    Evaluation of geothermal resources in a hotspot realm: Mauritius Island (Indian Ocean).

    C. Pasqua, M. Verdoya, P. Chiozzi, L. Marini

    ELC-Electroconsult, Milan, Italy - DISTAV, University of Genova, Italy

    claudio.pasqua@elc-electroconsult.com

    5.

    Fluid Chemistry and Soil Diffuse Degassing Measurements at the Homa Hills Geothermal Prospect

    Leakey et al.

    GDC

    6.

    Geothermal Exploration Strategies- Ugandas case study.

    Vincent Kato

    kato_vicent@hotmail.com

    7.

    Conceptual model of Menengai geothermal field

    Geoffrey Mibei et al

    8.

    Technical review of geothermal potential of Ngozi and Songwe prospects.

    Kenneth B. (Keg) Alexander

    Middle Earth Geoscience, Auckland, New Zealand

    keg@middleearthgeo.co.nz

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 3: Exploration (Geochemistry)

    1.

    Integrated Analysis of Geological Geochemical and Geophysical Data from Alalobeda Geothermal Field.

    C. Pasqua, E. Armadillo, D. Rizzello, M. Verdoya, P. Chiozzi, S. Kebede

    2.

    GEOCHEMICAL ASSESSMENT USING RADON AND CARBON DIOXIDE CONCENTRATION LEVELS FROM SOIL GAS SURVEY

    JESCA MUGA and Moses Murigu

    MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND PETROLEUM, KENYA

    teshma6@gmail.com

    3.

    CO2 in Soil Gases of the Silali Geothermal Prospect

    Mulusa G. I., Kipngok J., Leakey A., Sylvia M., Shilla C., Fridah M., Bett E., Isaac K. and Luigi M.

    GDC

    4.

    Chemical and isotopic characteristics of the fumaroles of Aluto volcano,

    C. Pasqua1, W. Melesse, L. Marini

    ELC-Electroconsult

    claudio.pasqua@elc-electroconsult.com

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 4: Drilling

    1.

    The Unique Loss Circulation Curing Cement Spacer during Cement Placement in Geothermal

    Samuel Abraham

    abrahamsamsamuel@yahoo.com

    2.

    Analysis of Non- Productive Time in Geothermal Drilling Operations.

    Brenda Nyota and Moses Murigu

    KENGEN

    3.

    BHA & Drilling Parameters Design for Deviation Control In Directional Wells- Menengai Experience.

    Abraham Khaemba and Dennis Mogaka

    GDC

    akhaemba@gdc.co.ke

    4.

    Noise Level Assessment in Geothermal Projects- A Case Study of Menengai Geothermal Project.

    H. Wamalwa & R. Kiama

    GDC

    hwamalwa@gdc.co.ke
    rkiama@gdc.co.ke

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 4: Legal Framework and Strategy.

    1.

    From Paris Marakech- From COP 21 to COP 22 and any Implications for Renewables and the Geothermal Sector.

    Marietta Sander

    IGA

    Marietta.Sander@hs-bochum.de

    2.

    Future Geothermal Energy Development in the East African Rift Valley Through Local Community Involvement: Learning from the Maoris experience.

    S. Onyango and J. Varet

    j.varet@geo2d.com

    3.

    Taking African Geothermal Knowledge to a Higher Level.

    Ludvik Georgsson and Ingimar Haraldsson

    lsg@os.is

    4.

    Formulating a Geothermal Energy Policy, Legal and Regulatory Framework for Uganda.

    Paul Zakkour

    paul.zakkour@carbon-counts.com

    3.

    Information Access and Utilization- A Recipe for Capacity Building in Geothermal Energy Development.

    Paul Bosire

    GDC

    pbosire@gdc.co.ke

    6.

    GEOTHERMAL DEVELOPMENT BY PUBLIC PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP

    Adrian Mwai,

    GDC

    akariuki@gdc.co.ke

    Break Out Sessions - Parallel 4: Geothermal Exploration

    1.

    Interpretation of geochemical data based on different models of reservoir characteristics

    Edwin Wafula

    KENGEN

    2.

    Structural Control of Rungwe Volcanic Province and its implication on geothermal system

    Albano Mahecha, Geoffrey Mibei and Jacob Mayalla

    3.

    Subsurface geology and hydrothermal alteration of wells LA9D and LA10D in the Aluto Langano geothermal field.

    Selamawit Worku

    GSE, ETHIOPIA

    soliethio@yahoo.com

     

    Go back to the Top »