Tel: +254 20 762 5634 | Mail: info@theargeo.org



ARGeo-C4 Full Papers

No.

Title Of Full Paper

Author(s)

Organization/Country

Submission

Contacts

1.

Geothermal Training for Africans: The Operations of the UNU-GTP in Iceland and Africa and Possible Future Development

Ludvik S. Georgsson

United Nations University Geothermal Training Programme (UNU-GTP)

2012

Isg@os.is

2.

The Asal Geothermal Site, Djibouti Republic (Model Update, 2012)

Abdou Mohamed Houmed, Abrourahman Omar Haga, Saida Abdilahi and Jacques Varet

Ministry of Energy, Water and Natural Resources, Djibouti Republic

2012

saida.omar.abdillahi@gmail.com; j.varet@brgm.fr
bilane24@yahoo.fr; abdou_med05@yahoo.fr

3.

Staged Asset Deployment – Commercial and Technical Advantages of Using a Wellhead Generation Unit

Mike Long, Ramesh Raman and William Harvey

Reykjavik University, Iceland

2012

""

4.

Geothermal Exploration and Development After The Passage of the Philippine Renewable Energy Act of 2008

Fernando S. Peñarroyo

University of Adrar Street, ALGERIA

2012

fspenarroyo@punopenalaw.com

5.

A Country Update of New Zealand Geothermal: Leading the World in Generation Growth Since 2005

Colin C. Harvey and Brian R. White

New Zealand

2012

brian.white@eastharb.co.nz; c.harvey@gns.cri.nz

6.

Supporting Kenya’s Transition towards Clean Energy Through Geothermal Development

Thierno Bah and Youssef Arfaoui

African Development Bank, Tunis, Tunisia

2012

t.h.bah@afdb.org/; y.arfaoui@afdb.org

7.

The Obock and Rouéli Geothermal Sites, Djibouti Republic

Abdourahman Omar Haga, HamoudSouleimanCheik, Jacques Varet

Ministry of Energy , Water and Natural Resources, Djibouti Republic

2012

hamoudsoulei@yahoo.fr; j.varet@brgm.fr; bilane24@yahoo.fr

8.

MT and TEM Joint Inversion of Eburru high Temperature Geothermal Field, Kenya

Anna W. Mwangi

Eburru, Kenya

2012

""

9.

The Manda - Inakir Geothermal Prospect Area, Djibouti Republic

Abrourahman Omar Haga, Said Kaireh Youssouf, Jacques Varet

Ministry of Energy, Water and Natural Resources (MEERN), Djibou ti Republic

2012

bilane24@yahoo.fr; abdou_med05@yahoo.fr
sakayou@yahoo.fr; j.varet@brgm.fr

10.

Evaluation of Past Hypothesis on Recharge of the Tendaho Geothermal Field, Ethiopia

Salahadin Ali Abdurahma

Tendaho, Ethiopia

2012

salahadinali@yahoo.com

11.

A Revised Approach to the Hanlé - Gaggadé (Djibouti Republic): The Garabbayis Geothermal Site

Abdou Mohamed Houmed, Abrourahman Omar Haga and Jacques Varet

Ministry of Energy, Water and Natural Resources, Djibouti Republic

2012

j.varet@brgm.fr; bilane24@yahoo.fr; abdou_med05@yahoo.fr

12.

Top Squeeze or Top Fill: Improved Secondary Cementing for Geothermal Wells

William M. Rickard, Jonathan Hernández and Alan Bailey

Geothermal Resource Group, Inc

2012

billrickard@geothermalresourcegroup.com

13.

Success of Multiple-leg Well Completions at the San Jacinto-Tizate Geothermal Field, Nicaragua

K.M. Mackenzie, M.W. Steffen and R. Phillips

New Zealand

2012

kmackenzie@globalskm.com
MSteffen@ram-power.com
ronald.phillips@bakerhughes.com

14.

Drifting Cement Plugs for Geothermal Wells

William M. Rickard, Jonathan Hernández and Alan Bailey

Geothermal Resource Group, Inc

2012

billrickard@geothermalresourcegroup.com

15.

Petrogenesis of the Suswa Volcano, Kenya

John Charles White, Vanessa V. Espejel-García, Elizabeth Y. Anthony, and Peter A. Omenda

UNEP ARGeo, KENYA

2012

Meseret.zemedkun@Unep.org
kenarthur83@gmail.com

16.

Computations in Real Rock - Heat Transport in 1/K-Noise Fractures

PC Leary, PE Malin & JA Pogacnik

University of Auckland, Auckland New Zealand

2012

p.leary@auckland.ac.nz

17.

Anthology of Geothermal Power Plants Efficiency: Energy Recovery and Water Condensate Recovery

Hugo Fernando Navas

, GUATEMALA

2012

hfnavas_lion@yahoo.com

18.

Expansion of Geothermal Development in Environmentally Significant Areas: The Case of Olkaria Geothermal Project in Hell’s Gate National Park, Kenya

Elizabeth Mw angi - Gachau

Olkaria Geothermal Project, Kenya Electricity Generating Company Limited (KenGen)

2012

ewmwangi7@gmail.com

19.

Environmental Impact Mitigation Considerations in Geothermal Drilling: A Case Study of Menengai Geothermal Drilling Project

Henry Wamalwa and Gabriel Wetang’ula

GDC, Kenya

2012

gwetangula@gdc.co.ke; hwamalwa@gdc.co.ke

20.

Preliminary Environmental and Social Impact Assessment of Karisimbi Geothermal Prospect, Rwanda

Jean N. Namugize and Stephen A. Onacha

GDC, Kenya

2012

jnnamugize@ewsa.rw; najoannes@yahoo.fr or stephenonacha@gmail.com

21.

Geology of Kibiro, Katwe and Buranga Geothermal Prospects of Uganda

James Francis Natukunda

Department of Geological Survey and Mines (DGSM), UGANDA

2012

jfnatukunda@gmail.com

22.

Study of Geothermal Sources and Potential Using GIS in Adrar site, Algeria

A.Benatiallah and B.Nasri

ALGERIA

2012

benatiallah.ali@gmail.com

23.

Microseismic Study of Menengai Caldera: Geothermal Prospect in the Central Kenya Dome

Ezer Patlan, Antony Wamalwa, Galen Kaip, Ashley Grijalva, and Aaron A. Velasco

GDC, KENYA

2012

epatlan@miners.utep.edu

24.

Creation of a Geohazard Monitoring Baseline for the Menengai Geothermal Field

Sylvia Joan Malimo

GDC, KENYA

2012

smalimo@gdc.co.ke

25.

Geothermal Development in Kenya: A Country Update - 2012

Peter A. Omenda

GDC, KENYA

2012

pomenda@gdc.co.ke

26.

Geothermal Development in Malawi – A Country Update

Kondwani Gondwe, Alistair Allen Lúdvík S. Georgsson, Ufulu Loga, Gift Tsokonombwe

Geological Surveys Department, MALAWI

2012

kondwanithapasila@yahoo.com
lsg@os.is

27.

Geothermal Development in the Comoros.

Mohamed Chaheire and Mohamed Chamassi

Ministry of Energy, Comoros

2012

chaheire@yahoo.fr

28.

Geothermal Development in Eritrea: A Country Update

Ermias Yohannes

Department of Mines, Eritrea

2012

ermias_yohannes@yahoo.com

29.

Geothermal Energy Development in Uganda: A Country Update 2012

Godfrey Bahati

Department of Geological Survey and Mines, Entebbe, UGANDA

2012-

gbahati@gmail.com

30.

Current Status of Geothermal Exploration in Burundi: Contribution to Regional Energy Needs in Central Africa

Nizeye G.

BURUNDI

2012-

gedeonnizeye@yahoo.fr

31.

KenGen Wellhead Technology Experience & Business Insight

Ronoh Kibet, Roy Bwoma

KENGEN/KENYA

2012-

rkibet@kengen.co .ke , rbwoma@kengen.com

32.

Electricity Sector Reform in Sub-Saharan African Countries and the Required Measures for PPP in Geothermal Power Generation

Rashid Ali Abdallah

Khartoum, Sudan

2012-

rashstpg@gmail.com, rashsing@hotmail.com

33.

Capacity Building for Fast Tracking Geothermal Development in Uganda (2012-2050)

Tsehaie Woldai, Isaiah Tumwikirize, Freek van der Meer, and Guus Willemsen

""

2012-

woldai@itc.nl

34.

Bridging the Skills Gap: Addressing the Lack of Technological and Professional Expertise in the Geothermal Sector - Kenya Experience

N. O. Mariita

KENGEN/KENYA

2012-

nmariita@kengen.co.ke

35.

Utilization of Seismics for Geothermal Prospecting: Case Studies from the Carpathian Mts, Central Europe

Juraj Janocko and Stanislav Jacko

Technical University K osice, Slovakia

2012-

juraj.janocko@tuke.sk

36.

Proposal for New Geothermal Models and Sites Hierarchy in Djibouti Republic

Abdou Mohamed Houmed, Abrourahman Omar Haga, SaidaAbdilahi, Jacques Varet

Ministry of Energy, Water and N atural Resources, Djibouti Republic

2012-

abdou_med05@yahoo.fr ; bilane24@yahoo.fr ; saida.omar.abdillahi@gmail. com; j.varet@brgm.fr

37.

Use of Radon and Carbon Dioxide in Geochemical Exploration of Menengai and Silali Geothermal Prospects, Kenya

Sylvia Joan Malimo

GDC/KENYA

2012-

smalimo@gdc.co.ke

38.

Heat Flow Measurement In Dhamar Prospective Geothermal Field, Yemen

Al-Kubati M., Mattash and Saharee

.

2012-

nazarmod@yahoo.com

39.

Geothermal Development in Tanzania – A Country Update

Taramaeli T. Mnjokava

Geological Survey of Tanzania: Dodoma, Tanzania

2012-

mnjott@yahoo.co.uk

40.

Geothermal Development in Djibouti Republic: A Country Report

Aboulkader Khaireh and Fouad Aye

Geological Bureau of Comoros, Ministry of Energy

2012-

minist ereenergie@gmail.com

41.

Nord-Ghoubbet Geothermal Site, Djibouti Republic

Abdou Mohamed Houmed, Abrourahman Omar Haga, Jacques Varet

Ministry of Energy, Water and Natural Resources, Djibouti Republic

2012-

abdou_med05@yahoo.fr ; bilane24@yahoo.fr ; j.varet@brgm.fr

42.

Challenges and Opportunities of Geothermal Exploration and Development in the Western Branch of the East Africa Rift Valley

Stephen A. Onacha

Energy Water & Sanitation Authority (EWSA): Kigali, Rwanda

2012-

stephenonacha@gmail.com , sonacha@ewsa.rw

43.

Small-Scale Rural Electrification and Direct Use of Low-Temperature Geothermal Resources at Mbaka Fault in SW Tanzania

Michael Kraml, Horst Kreuter, Graeme Robertson and Mbaka exploration team members

GERMANY

2012-

Kraml@Geo-T.de

44.

Combining Renewable Energy Technologies - With a Geothermal Focus

: Marietta Sander

IGA, GERMANY

2012-

Marietta.Sander@hs - bochum.de

45.

Geothermal Energy: A Possible Source to Light Majimoto Community, Serengeti District, Tanzania

Ngereja Mgejwa

Ministry of Energy and Minerals, TANZANIA

2012-

nmmgejwa@yahoo.com, n.mgejwa@me m.go.tz

46.

Direct Use of Geothermal Energy for Low Cost and No Pollution Manufacturing in Kenya

Andrew Amadi and Edna Ouko

KENYA

2012-

eouko@gdc.co.ke

47.

Results of Well Production Test for Olkaria Domes Field, Olkaria Kenya

Eric Rop

KENGEN/KENYA

2012-

Erop@kengen.co.ke

48.

Geothermal Energy Use in Russia

V.B.Svalova

Institute of Environmental Geoscience RAS, Moscow, Russia

2012-

inter@geoenv.ru

49.

KS 14 PUNA Geothermal Venture: Flawless Execution of Aerated Mud Drilling with Mud Motor in Hostile Environment

Bill Rickard, Abraham Samuel, Chris Lee, Paul Spielman, Ivan Cuadros4, Justin Long and Earl Robert

.

2012-

.

50.

Integrated Services Achieves Multi-String Casing Exit and Re-Drill in Geothermal Well: Kapoho State-11RD (Geothermal Well)

Abraham Samuel, Bill Rickard, Paul Spielman, David Nickels, Michael Otto, Mark Pahler, Ronald Phillips and Christopher Guidry

Geothermal Resour ces Group 1 , Ormat Technologies 2 , Baker Hughes

2012-

.

51.

Clean Development Mechanism through Geothermal: Ethiopian Scenario

D. Chandrasekharam and V. Chandrasekhar

Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai

2012-

dchandra50@gmail.com

52.

CDM Potential: Menengai and Olkaria Geothermal Power Projects in Kenya

Thecla M. Mutia

GDC/KENYA

2012-

teclamutts@yahoo.com , tmutia@gdc.co.ke

53.

Subsurface Depositional Systems in Lake Turkana Basin, North-western Kenya: Based on Gravity and Seismic Data Investigations

Bernard Kipsang Rop

Mining & Mineral Processing Engineering, Taita Taveta University College, KENYA

2012-

drropben@yahoo.com

54.

Tectonic Structures Across the Eastern African Rift Likely to Pose the Greatest Earthquake Hazard in Kenya

Josphat K.Mulwa and Fumiaki Kimata

University of Nairobi, Department of Geology, KENYA

2012-

jkmulwa@uonbi.ac.ke ; fumikimata@gmail.com

55.

3D Visualization of Geothermal Wells Directional Surveys and Integration with Digital Elevation Model(DEM)

Wesley Koros

KENGEN/KENYA

2012-

koros_wesley@yahoo.com

56.

Application of Digital Elevation Models in Menengai Geothermal Field

Irene Mboin and Esther Yator

.

2012-

.

57.

Correlating Resistivity with Temperature and Alteration Mineralogy in Menengai Geothermal Field: Case Study of Menengai Well MW-01

Yussuf Noor, Janet Suwai and Deflorah Kangogo

GDC/KENYA

2012-

ynoor@gdc.co.ke, jsuwai@gdc.co.ke, dkangogo@gdc.co.ke

58.

Geo-scientific Data Integration to Evaluate Geothermal Potential Using GIS (A Case for Korosi-Chepchuk Geothermal Prospects, Kenya)

Levi Shako and Joseph Mutua

KENGEN/KENYA

2012-

jmutua@gdc.co.ke

59.

Developing Engineers to Compliment Geothermal Expansion in East Africa

Eliud Wanyonyi

KENGEN/KENYA

2012-

ewanyonyi@kengen.co.ke

60.

A New Initiative - Geothermal Power Development in East Africa: The AUC/KfW Geothermal Risk Mitigation Facility (GRMF)

Gordon Bloomquist, Philippe Niyongabo, Raed El-Halabi and Margit Löschau

.

2012-

gordon_bloomquist@hotmail.com

 

Go back to the Top »