Tel: +254 20 762 5634 | Mail: info@theargeo.org



ARGeo-C5 Full Papers

No.

Title Of Full Paper

Author(s)

Organization/Country

Submission

Contacts

1.

FLUORIDE IONS IN GROUNDWATER

Mutonga, M.

GDC, Kenya

2014

mariettamua@gmail.com
mmtonga@gdc.co.ke

2.

ANALYSIS OF NON-PRODUCTIVE TIME IN GEOTHERMAL DRILLING

Reuben Ngosi and Kamau Mungai

GDC, Kenya

2014

mmungai@gdc.co.ke
rngosi@gdc.co.ke

3.

Results of XRD Clay Data Analysis of Menengai Geothermal Field

Noel Ndombi Iminza, Tito Plimo Lopeyok, Loice Kipchumba

GDC, Kenya

2014

nndombi@gdc.co.ke
tlopeyok@gdc.co.ke
lkipchumba@gdc.co.ke

4.

Studying of geothermal potential using GIS in Algeria

A.Benatiallah, B.Nasri, D.Benatiallah, A.Harrouz

University of Adrar Street, ALGERIA

2014

benatiallah.ali@gmail.com
benatiallah@univ-adrar.dz

5.

Proposed direct use of geothermal resources in Abattoirs

Bernard Rotich

GDC, Kenya

2014

brotich@gdc.co.ke

6.

Preliminary Study of Binary Power Plant Output

Ferdinand Wakana

Ministry of Energy and Mines
Bujumbura BURUNDI

2014

wakanafer@yahoo.fr

8.

Comparative Overview of Gases Discharged from Menengai and Olkaria High Temperature Geothermal Fields

Jeremiah K.
Ochieng L.
Mibei G.
Kanda K.
Suwai J.

GDC, Kenya

2014

jkipngok@gdc.co.ke

9.

COMPARISON OF DRILLING TECHNOLOGIES BETWEEN TOP DRIVE AND ROTARY TABLE IN GEOTHERMAL FIELDS

Martin Waswa

Kenya Electricity Generating Company Limited
Geothermal Resource Development
KENYA

2014

vicatwa@gmail.com
jamka04@gmail.com

10.

Cost Model for Geothermal Wells

Carolyn Kipsang

Kenya Electricity Generating Company Limited
Geothermal Resource Development
KENYA

2014

carolynkipsang@gmail.com

11.

Geothermal Exploration in Eritrea

Ermias Yohannes

Department of Mines, ERITREA

2014

Ermias_yohannes@yahoo.com

12.

Significance of Tectono-volcanic Axes in Menengai Geothermal Field

Emily Kahiga

GDC, Kenya

2014

ewangari@gdc.co.ke

13.

Environmental Suitability Analysis for Geothermal development: A case study for Suswa

Beatrice Nyairo, Levi Shako, Thecla Mutia,

GDC, Kenya

2014

bnyairo@gdc.co.ke
lshako@gdc.co.ke
tmutia@gdc.co.ke

14.

Comparison Characterization and Interpretation of Geothermal Fluid Geochemistry in Sedimentary Environments

Grace Lajwe

Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development
Department of Geological Survey and Mines
UGANDA

2014

gracelajwe@yahoo.com

15.

South-South Cooperation in Providing Clean Energy Solutions to Africa

Kennedy Arthur and Meseret Zemedkun

UNEP ARGeo, KENYA

2014

Meseret.zemedkun@Unep.org
kenarthur83@gmail.com

16.

Managing Expectations in the Development of Geothermal Resources in East Africa

Kreuter, H., Kraml, M., Jodocy, M

Geothermal Engineering GmbH, GERMANY

2014

kreuter@geo-t.de

17.

ACCOMODATION ZONES, AS REGIONAL MAPPING GUIDES TO GEOTHERMAL ACTIVITY

Vincent Kato

Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development
Department of Geological Survey and Mines
UGANDA

2014

kato_vicent@hot.com

19.

Joint 1d Inversion Of Mt And Tem Data From Menengai Geothermal Field, Kenya

Joseph Gichira

GDC, Kenya

2014

jgichira@gdc.co.ke

20.

Livestock, Herders and Steam: Geothermal energy technology and its application

Paul Cheptai Lomeri and Rotich Bernard

GDC, Kenya

2014

plomeri@gdc.co.ke
brotich@gdc.co.ke

21.

Collaboration between Industry and Universities in Geothermal Energy Training in Africa

Mariita N. O.

Dedan Kimathi University of Technology, KENYA

2014

nicholas.mariita@dkut.ac.ke
mariitaobuya@yahoo.com

22.

Geochemical modeling of water-rock interaction processes in the geothermal systems of the continental rift zone of East Africa and related implications

Luigi Marini and Claudio Pasqua

ELC-Electroconsult S.p.A.
ITALY

2014

luigimarini@appliedgeochemistry.it
claudio.pasqua@elc-electroconsult.com

23.

GIS Approach for a Common Geothermal Database for East African Rift System Region

Peter Mawejje

Geological survey and Mines Dept.
UGANDA

2014

Mawejje.p@gmail.com

24.

ENVIRONMENTAL, SOCIAL AND SAFETY ASPECTS ASSOCIATED WITH IMPLEMENTATION OF GEOTHERMAL POWER PROJECTS

Philip Juma Barasa

KenGen, KENYA

2014

pbaraza@kengen.co.ke

25.

Status of geothermal energy exploration at Buranga

James Francis Natukunda and Godfrey Bahati

Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development
Department of Geological Survey and Mines
UGANDA

2014

fjnatukunda@gmail.com
gbahati@gmail.com

26.

Environmental Audit Score-Card for Menengai

Thecla Mutia and Hockly Simboyi

GDC, Kenya

2014

tmutia@gdc.co.ke
hsimboyi@gdc.co.ke

27.

Characterization of borehole water quality from a volcanic area for drinking.

Henry Wamalwa and Thecla Mutia

GDC, Kenya

2014

hwamalwa@gdc.co.ke
tmutia@gdc.co.ke

28.

Development of an Opensource Web Based GIS for Geocollaboration in Geothermal Resources Management

Wekesa.F, and Wandia. M

KENGEN, KENYA

2014

fwekesa@kengen.co.ke
dmwaura@kengen.co.ke
marywandia@gmail.com

29.

Presentation of Geothermal Potential and the Status of Exploration in Democratic Republic

Patrick M. Kant

Geological Survey/ DRC

2014-

muanzapatrick@gmail.com

30.

Water Dependency of Geothermal Power Generation Systems

Esther Sironka

KenGen/KENYA

2014-

esironka@kengen.co.ke

31.

TUBULAR INSPECTION REGIME AND REFURBISHMENT AS A TOOL FOR EFFECTIVE DRILLING OF GEOTHERMAL WELLS

Abraham Khaemba
Cyrus Kyalo

GDC/KENYA

2014-

akhaemba@gdc.co.ke

32.

Magneto-Telluric (MT) Survey in Tendaho Geothermal Prospect

Yiheyis WORKALEMAHU

Geothermal Resource Exploration and Evaluation Directorate (GSE).

2014-

yiheyiskebede@gmail.com

33.

Prospects for Geothermal Energy from Arta Prospect

Abdourahman Omar Haga
Ali Barreh Adaweh
Djama Robleh Djama

Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources
DJIBOUTI

2014-

Agaboudin33@gmail.com
alibarreh@gmail.com
jamajama3@hotmail.com

34.

GIS Applications in Heat Source Mapping in Menengai Geothermal Field

Levi Shako and Antony Wamalwa

GDC/KENYA

2014-

lshako@gdc.co.ke
awamalwa@gdc.co.ke

37.

In search of Geothermal Energy in Rwanda

Uwera RUTAGARAMA

Energy, Water and Sanitation Limited
RWANDA

2014-

urutagarama@ewsa.rw

38.

Geoscientific data collection, analysis and interpretation during the drilling phase of geothermal development

Geoffrey Mibei and Leakey Ochieng

GDC/KENYA

2014-

gmibei@gdc.co.ke

39.

Volcano-tectonic and hydrothermal activity in the Soddo area, western margin of the Southern Main Ethiopian Rift

Corti G,
Sani F.,
Minissale A.,
Montanari D.

Università degli Studi di Firenze
Italy

2014-

giacomo.corti@igg.cnr.it

40.

Geothermal : The solution of the energy crisis in Comoros

MOHAMED CHAHEIRE Mohamed Chamassi

Geological Bureau of Comoros, Ministry of Energy

2014-

chaheire@yahoo.fr

41.

REPORT ON THE INVESTIGATION ON THE USE OF BRINE WATER FOR CONCRETE WORKS

Josephine Kamatu

KENYA

2014-

jkamatu@gmail.com

42.

Structural Controls on the Chemistry and Output of the Wells in the Olkaria Geothermal Field

Ruth Wamalwa

KenGen/KENYA

2014-

rwamalwa@kengen.co.ke

43.

Reverse Foam Latex Cementing PGV KS 15 GRC 2013

Brad Peters
Ormat
Abraham S Samuel
William M Rickard
Geothermal Resource Group
and Mark Sauter, Thermasource

Geothermal Resource Group;

2014-

abrahamsamsamuel@yahoo.com

44.

Problems encountered while drilling and completion stages in Asal Rift wells

Farah Omar

Djiboutian Development Office of Geothermal Energy

2014-

farahwalioullah@gmail.com

46.

The Geology and Potential of Kibiro Geothermal Field in Albertine Graben

Peter Maweje

Geological survey and Mines Dept, UGANDA

2014-

Mawejje.p@gmail.com

48.

An Overview of Geochemical Characteristics of Olkaria Geothermal Field

Becky, W.

Geothermal Energy Training and Research Institute
Dedan Kimathi University of Technology
KENYA

2014-

beckywanja1@gmail.com

49.

Exploration for Sedimentary Basin Hosted low-Enthalpy Geothermal Sysyems in Zambia

Vivian-Neal P F R

Kalahari GeoEnergy Ltd
ZAMBIA

2014-

peter.vivian-neal@kalaharigeoenergy.com

50.

REVIEW OF ISOTOPIC AND FLUID INCLUSION DATA AT TENDAHO PROSPECT

G. Montegrossi, G. Ruggieri, C. Pasqua, G. Magro

ITALY

2014-

montegrossi@igg.cnr.it
ruggieri@igg.cnr.it
claudio.pasqua@elc-electroconsult.com
g.magro@igg.cnr.it

51.

Geothermal Well Design for the Future 4 Wells in the Lava Lake Area in Caldera Fiale in Djibouti

Abdirasak Omar Moumin

Djiboutian Office of the Geothermal Energy Development

2014-

abdirasak.omar.moumin@gmail.com

52.

Results of the Pre-Feasibility Study on Ngozi Geothermal Project in Tanzania

Michael Kraml, Norbert Ochmann, Dominique Leible, Tobias Kling1, Sudian A. Chiragwile, Marco Jodocy, Horst Kreuter and GPT Exploration Team

GeoThermal Engineering GmbH (GeoT),
GERMANY

2014-

Kraml@geo-t.de, Leible@geo-t.de,
tobias.kling@kit.edu
Jodocy@geo-t.de, Kreuter@geo-t.de
principal@mri.co.tz

53.

Prefeasibility design of single flash in Asal geothermal power plant 2x25 MW

Hamoud SOULEIMAN Cheik and Omar AHMED MOUSSA

Djiboutian Office for Development of Geothermal Energy (ODDEG)

2014-

hamoudsoulei@yahoo.fr

55.

Re-Designing and Integrating National into Regional Geothermal Development Strategies to Increase Electric Energy for Economic and Social Transformation

Bahati Godfrey, Nyakabwa-Atwoki, Ralph K.B.

Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development
Department of Geological Survey and Mines
UGANDA

2014-

gbahati@gmail.com
bcwakira@gmail.com

56.

The Asal Geothermal Site, Djibouti Republic

Abdou Mohamed Houmed, Abrourahman Omar Haga, Saida Abdilahi, Jacques Varet

Djibouti Office for Geothermal Energy Development (ODDEG), Djibouti

2014-

abdou_med05@yahoo.fr
bilane24@yahoo.fr
saida.omar.abdillahi@gmail.com
j.varet@brgm.fr

57.

Geothermal Development in Republic of Djibouti

Abdoulkader Khaireh, Abdou Mohamed Houmed, Abdourahman Omar Haga, Hamoud Souleiman

Djibouti Office for Geothermal Energy Development (ODDEG)

2014-

khaireh.abdoulkader@gmail.com
abdou_med05@yahoo.fr
bilane24@yahoo.fr

58.

Chemical hierarchy of hydrothermal signals at surface and hierarchy of eventual geophysical investigations in geothermal exploration

Minissale A.

CNR-Research Council of Italy
Institute of Geosciences & Georesources-IGG
ITALY

2014-

minissa@igg.cnr.it

59.

Magnetic and Gravity Survey of Gedemsa Geothermal Prospect Area-Main Ethiopian Rift

Fitsum Abera
, Kasahun Dander
, Andarge Mengste
, Getachew Burusa
, Teketel Beyene

Geological survey of Ethiopia

2014-

fitseta2006@gmail.com
fitseta_abera@yahoo.com

60.

For a new social gender-based approach to local geothermal development

Susan Onyango & Jacques Varet

Géo2D and Electerre de France

2014-

s.onyango@geo2d.com;
j.varet@geo2d.com

61.

The “Geothermal Village” Concept

Jacques Varet
Peter Omenda
Jectone Achieng
Susan Onyango

SARL Géo2D and Electerre de France
GDC KENYA

2014-

j.varet@geo2d.com;
pomenda@gdc.co.ke;
jachieng@gdc.co.ke;
s.onyango@geo2d.com

62.

STRUCTURAL GEOLOGY OF EBURRU-BADLANDS GEOTHERMAL PROSPECT

Kubai.R and Kandie.R

KenGen / KENYA

2014-

kiende.rose@gmail.com/
rkubai@kengen.co.ke;
rkandie@kengen.co.ke

63.

Geothermal Resource Prospects of Permian Karoo Rifts on the Western Flank of the Western Rift

Getahun Demissie

Addis Abeba, Ethiopia

2014-

getahun.demissie.gemeda@gmail.com

64.

High heat generating granites of Tanzania

Chandrasekhar.V
Omenda.P.
Chandrasekharam.D.

GeoSyndicate Power Pvt. Ltd., Mumbai, India
Geothermal Development Company, Kenya
Indian Istitute of Technology, Mumbai, India

2014-

dchandra@iitb.ac.in

66.

Integration and Modeling of Geoscience Data from the Tendaho Geothermal Area, Afar Rift

Jim Stimac
, Egidio Armadillo
, Solomon Kebede
, Meseret Zemedkun
, Yiheyis Kebede
, Asfaw Teclu
, Daniele Rizzello , Petronila E. Mandeno

Stimac Geothermal Consulting,
DISTAV, Università di Genova, Genova, Italy
Geological Survey of Ethiopia,

2014

jim.stimac@geoglobal-energy.com

67.

Geological and geothermal manifestation mapping in the Karisimbi prospect

Jean-Claude Ngaruye

Energy, Water and Sanitation Authority
Rwanda,

2014-

jclaudengar@yahoo.fr

68.

USING RESERVOIR MODELS FOR STRATEGIC DECISION-MAKING

J. O’Sullivan1
, R. Archer
, E. Clearwater1
, A. Croucher1
, W. Koros
, J. Newson
, J. Pogacnik1 , T. Ratouis

Department of Engineering Science, University of Auckland
New Zealand

2014

jp.osullivan@auckland.ac.nz

69.

Limitations in Applying Silica Thermometry for Geothermal Prospects Evaluation in Rwanda

Eugene KARANGWA

Rwanda Energy Group Limited
Rwanda,

2014-

eukarangwa@gmail.com

70.

Lifting E-Africa to a New Level in Geothermal Development

Lúdvík S. Georgsson

Orkustofnun, Grensásvegi
ICELAND,

2014-

lsg@os.is

71.

ARGeo Geothermal database - Progress Report - A case of Rwanda.

MUGABO Assouman

Energy Development Corporation Ltd,
Kigali, Rwanda

2014-

mugaboa@gmail.com,

72.

SURFACE GEOLOGICAL MAPPING AT TENDAHO GEOTHERMAL FIELD

Mamo,T , and Bekele, B.

Geological Survey of Ethiopia

2014-

tadesmma@yahoo.co.uk

73.

Cost-effective aerial imagery and soil CO 2 flux surveys for geothermal exploration

Kenneth B. (Keg) Alexander and Mark Harvey

The University of Auckland
New Zealand

2014-

Keg.alexander@gmail.com
mharvey098@aucklanduni.ac.nz

76.

CHALLENGES OF CEMENTING OLKARIA GEOTHERMAL FIELD.

Nahashon Karanja, and Thomas Wagumba,

KenGen

2014-

nnzioka@kengen.co.ke
twagumba@kengen.co.ke

77.

Status Geothermal Exploration and Development in Ethiopia.

Solomon Kebede

Geological Survey of Ethiopia

2014-

solo450354@yahoo.com

78.

COMPARISON OF DRILLING TECHNOLOGIES BETWEEN TOP DRIVE AND ROTARY TABLE IN GEOTHERMAL FIELDS

Victor Atwa and James Kahutu

KenGen

2014-

vicatwa@gmail.com,
jamka04@gmail.com

79.

Passive Seismic Network- A Diagnostic Tool to Discover Geothermal Activity

Isaiah Tumwikirize

Geological Survey and Mines Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development
Uganda

2014-

isaiah.tumwikirize@gmail.com

80.

Geothermal Country Update Report for Kenya: 2014

Peter Omenda, Silas Simiyu and Geoffrey Muchemi

GDC-KENYA
KENGEN

2014-

pomenda@gdc.co.ke

81.

Geochemical and isotopic results of recent surface exploration in Rufiji area

Michael Kraml, Tillmann Kaudse, Jean Mujumba, Dominique Leible, Werner Aeschbach-Hertig, Horst Kreuter and GPT Exploration Team

Geothermal Engineering GmbH (GeoT)

2014-

Kraml@geo-t.de
Leible@geo-t.de
Kreuter@geo-t.de

82.

Geology of Danakil Depression (Eritrea)

Mesfin, A., Yohannes, E.,

Ministry of Energy and Mines
Eritrea

2014-

ermias_yohannes@yahoo.com

83.

GEOTHERMAL LAWS, POLICIES AND INSTITUTIONAL FRAMEWORKS IN EASTERN Africa

Robert Wabunoha

UNEP

2014-

robert.wabunoha@unep.org

84.

Preliminary Chemical Composition of Fumarolic Gases and Hot Springs of the Barrier Volcanic Complex Geothermal Prospect

Auko, L.O., Kipngok, J., Malimo, S.J and Kanda, I

GDC-KENYA

2014-

lochieng@gdc.co.ke
jkipngok@gdc.co.ke
smalimo@gdc.co.ke
ikanda@gdc.co.ke

85.

APPLICATION OF TRANSIENT ELECTROMAGNETICS IN STATIC SHIFT CORRECTION FOR MAGNETOTELLURICS DATA

Raymond Mwakirani

GDC-KENYA

2014-

rmwakirani@gdc.co.ke

86.

STAFF MOTIVATION, A POWERFUL RECIPE TO SUCCESS IN GEOTHERMAL OPERATIONS IN KENYA

Kenani D.,

GDC-KENYA

2014-

dkenani@gdc.co.ke

87.

Status of Geothermal Exploration in Malawi

Kaonga, H., Tsokonombwe, G., Kamanga, T.

Geological Survey Department of Malawi

2014-

hendrixkaonga@yahoo.com

88.

The roots of volcanic geothermal systems.

Arnórsson, S.

Reykjavík, Iceland

2014-

sted@hi.is

89.

Carbon dioxide waters and chemical geothermometer interpretation

Arnórsson, S.

uNIVERSITY OF Iceland

2014-

sted@hi.is

90.

STRATIGRAPHICAL MODEL OF KOROSI GEOTHERMAL PROSPECT

Lucy Muthoni Njue,

GDC-Kenya

2014-

lnjue@gdc.co.ke

91.

The Role of the Geothermal Risk Mitigation Facility

Rashid Abdalla

AUC

2014-

rashsinga@hotmail.com

 

Go back to the Top »