Tel: +254 20 762 5634 | Mail: info@theargeo.org



ARGeo-C6 List of Full Papers

No.

Title Of Paper

Author(s)

Organization/Country

Date of Submission

Contacts

1.

2D INVERSION OF MT DATA TO DELINEATE THE RESISTIVITY STRUCTURE OF KIBIRO GEOTHERMAL PROSPECT.

Eriya Kahwa, Geraldine P. Babirye, Nelson R. Birungi and Joseph Nyago

Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development, UGANDA

2016

kahwaeriya@gmail.com

2.

A SOLUTION MODEL FOR STUCK-PIPE & FISHING CHALLENGES IN GEOTHERMAL DRILLING- A CASE OF THE OLKARIA GEOTHERMAL FIELD

Nester Ouma Nyakiti

KENGEN Kenya

2016

nnyakiti@kengen.co.ke

3.

ANALYSIS OF NON-PRODUCTIVE TIME IN GEOTHERMAL DRILLING OPERATIONS - A CASE STUDY OF OLKARIA.

Brenda Nyota and Moses M. Murigu

2016

BNyota@kengen.co.ke
mmurigu@kengen.co.ke

4.

ALUTO-LANGANO GEOTHERMAL FIELD PROPOSAL OF A NEW GEO-VOLCANOLOGICAL MODEL BY COMBINING THE EXISTING DATA WITH MODERN STUDIES.

Abebe T. , C. Pasqua , S. Kebede

GSE Kenya

2016

tsegaye.abebe28@gmail.com

5.

Application of a Unique Loss Circulation Curing Cement Spacer during Cement Placement in Geothermal Wells

Abraham S. Samuel, Chike Uchendu , Francis Okoto , Johnstone Maleche, Abraham Khaemba, Lawrence Murungi , Kenya and David Kulakofsky

Kenya

2016

Abrahamsamsamuel@yahoo.com

6.

BHA AND DRILLING PARAMETERS DESIGN FOR DEVIATION CONTROL IN DIRECTIONAL WELLS- MENENGAI EXPRIENCE

Abraham W. Khaemba and Dennis M. Onchiri

GDC, Kenya

2016

akhaemba@gdc.co.ke

7.

CHARACTERISTICS AND IMPORTANT FACTORS THAT INFLUENCE THE DEVELOPMENT OF GEOTHERMAL SYSTEMS IN THE WESTERN BRANCH OF EAST AFRICAN RIFT SYSTEM

P. Omenda, C. Ebinger, W. Nelson, D. Delvaux, W. Cumming, L. Marini, S. Halldórsson, J. Varet, K. Árnason, G. Ruempker, K. Alexander, M. Zemedkum

Kenya

2016

pomenda@gmail.com

8.

CHEMICAL AND ISOTOPIC CHARACTERISTICS OF THE FUMAROLES OF ALUTO VOLCANO

C. Pasqua, W. Melesse, A. Teclu, L. Marini

Kenya

2016

claudio.pasqua@elc-electroconsult.com

9.

CO2 in Soil Gases of the Silali Geothermal Prospect Kenya

Mulusa G. Igunza, Kipngok Jeremiah, Leakey Auko, Sylvia Malimo, Shilla Chepkemoi, Fridah Mwanyasi, Bett Evans, Isaac Kanda and Luigi Marini

Kenya

2016

gigunza@gdc.co.ke

10.

COMMUNITY-BASED GEOTHERMAL DEVELOPMENT PERSPECTIVE IN AFAR.

A. Nebro, I.A. Gardo, J. Varet & S.Onyango

2016

dersuma4@gmail.com
gardoali@yahoo.com
jacques.varet@gmail.com
sonyango1931@gmail.com

11.

CONCEPTUAL MODEL OF THE MENENGAI GEOTHERMAL FIELD final paper edited

Geoffrey Mibei, Joseph Mutua, Lucy Njue and Calistus Ndongoli

GDC, Kenya

2016

gmibei@gdc.co.ke

12.

COUNTRY UPDATE ON GEOTHERMAL EXPLORATION AND DEVELOPMENT IN ETHIOPIA

Solomon Kebede

GSE

2016

Solo450354@yahoo.com

13.

COUNTRY UPDATE REPORT FOR DJIBOUTI

Omar Abdillahi, Abdou Mohamed, Kayad Moussa, Abdoulkader Khaireh

Djibouti Office for Geothermal Energy Development (ODDEG)

2016

omar.abdillahi.assoweh@gmail.com
abdou_med05@yahoo.fr
kayadmoussa@gmail.com
khaireh.abdoulkader@gmail.com

14.

COUNTRY UPDATE REPORT FOR KENYA 2016.

Peter Omenda and Peketsa Mangi

2016

pomenda@gmail.com
pmangi@kengen.co.ke

15.

COUNTRY UPDATE REPORT FOR TANZANIA

Kato T. Kabaka, Taramaeli T. Mnjokava and Shakiru I. Kajugus

TGDC,

2016

kato.kabaka@tgdc.go.tz
taramaeli.mnjokava@tanesco.co.tz
shakiru.idrissa@tanesco.co.tz

16.

COUNTRY UPDATE REPORT FOR ZAMBIA

Peter Vivian-Neal, Peter Harrison and Abel Chavula

2016

achavula@zesco.co.zm
peter@dunkelly.co.za
peter.vivian-neal@kalaharigeoenergy.com

17.

CURRENT STATUS AND THE WAY FORWARD FOR GEOTHERMAL EXPLORATION IN BURUNDI

Oswald Ndagije

2016

ndagijeoswalde@yahoo.fr

18.

Design of a co-production system for steam and freshwater in fractured porous media geothermal reservoirs

Sembele, M.K, Mbia, P and Makuk, I

GDC, Kenya

2016

mketer@gdc.co.ke

19.

DIRECT USE OF GEOTHERMAL ENERGY- AN UPDATE OF THE MENENGAI DIRECT USE PILOT PROJECT IN KENYA

Esther Nyambura

GDC, Kenya

2016

enyambura@gdc.co.ke

20.

DO GEOTHERMAL POWER PLANTS AFFECT ECOSYSTEMS- A REVIEW - BIO-INDICATORS DATA ACQUISITION AND PROCESSING PROTOCOLS

Thecla M. Mutia

GDC, Kenya

2016

teclamutts@gmail.com

21.

Drones in geothermal exploration - Mark Harvey and Colin Harvey

Mark Harvey, Colin Harvey, Julie Rowland and Katherine Luketina

Kenya

2016

mark@harveygeoscience.co.nz

22.

EFFECTIVE PUBLIC COMMUNICATION CAMPAIGN FOR GEOTHERMAL ENERGY POLICY INNOVATIONS FOR SUSTAINABLE ENERGY IN AFRICA

Wilson Okaka

Kyambogo University,

2016

nupap2000@yahoo.com

23.

EVALUATION OF GEOTHERMAL RESOURCES IN A HOTSPOT REALM - MAURITIUS ISLAND (INDIAN OCEAN)

C. Pasqua,, M. Verdoya, P. Chiozzi, L. Marini

2016

claudio.pasqua@elc-electroconsult.com

24.

EXPLORATION FOR GEOTHERMAL RESOURCES USING GEOLOGICAL STRUCTURES (FAULTS) - A CASE STUDY OF NORTHERN MALAWI

Charleson Namandwa Eliyasi

Geological Survey of Malawi

2016

celiyasi@yahoo.com

25.

FEASIBILITY OF USING WELLHEAD POWER PLANTS TO ACCELERATE GEOTHERMAL DEVELOPMENT IN KENYA_ 04112016 Final

Shammah Kiptanui and Ezekiel Kipyego

GDC, Kenya

2016

skiptanui@gdc.co.ke
ekkipyego@gdc.co.ke

26.

FORMULATING A GEOTHERMAL ENERGY POLICY LEGAL AND REGULATORY FRAMEWORK FOR UGANDA

Paul Zakkour, Gregory Cook, Vincent Kato,Godfrey Bahati,Innocent Kihika, Alan Baguma, Doreen Namyalo Kyazze

2016

paul.zakkour@carbon-counts.com

27.

From Paris to Marrakech – from COP21 to COP22 and Any implications for renewables and the geothermal sector

Marietta Sander

International Geothermal Association

2016

Marietta.Sander@gmail.com

28.

GE OIL&GAS PRODUCTS AND SERVICES FOR GEOTHERMAL POWER GENERATION

Capodanno S., Stolzuoli M., Vaccaro M., Maranzano M.

2016

stefano.capodanno@ge.com

29.

GEOCHEMICAL CONTRAST OF THERMAL WATERS OF RUNGWE VOLCANIC PROVINCE IN SW TANZANIA AND GREGORY RIFT IN NE TANZANIA AND THEIR POTENTIAL ECONOMIC IMPORTANCE

Crispin Kinabo,

Department of Geology, University of Dar es Salaam

2016

kinabo_2003@yahoo.co.uk

30.

GEOCHEMICAL ASSESSMENT FOR THE MORENDAT EAST GEOTHERMAL PROSPECT

Jesca Muga

MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND PETROLEUM

2016

teshma6@gmail.com

31.

GEOTHERMAL DEVELOPMENT BY PUBLIC PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP

Adrian Mwai

GDC

2016

akariuki@gdc.co.ke

32.

GEOTHERMAL DEVELOPMENT IN THE COMOROS AND RESULTS OF GEOTHERMAL SURFACE EXPLORATION

Mohamed Chaheire, Mohamed Chamassi and Naoildine Houmadi

2016

chaheire@yahoo.fr

33.

GEOTHERMAL EXPLORATION OF THE MENENGAI GEOTHERMAL FIELD

Geoffrey Mibei, Lucy Njue and Calistus Ndongoli

GDC

2016

gmibei@gdc.co.ke

34.

GEOTHERMAL EXPLORATION STRATEGIES-UGANDA’S CASE STUDY.

Vincent KATO

Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources, UGANDA

2016

Kato_vicent@hotmail.com

35.

GEOTHERMAL MAPPING IN MIDDALUR FIELD HENGILL AREA SW-ICELAND

Patrick Kant Muanza

2016

patrick_kant@yahoo.fr

36.

Geothermal Project Timelines

Yngvi Gudmundsson

2016

yg@verkis.is

37.

Geothermal Space Cooling

Thorleikur Johannesson, Yngvi Gudmundsson and Kristin Gudmundsdottir

2016

38.

HIGH TEMPERATURE HYDROTHERMAL ALTERATION IN ACTIVE GEOTHERMAL SYSTEMS A CASE STUDY OF OLKARIA DOMES

James Nyandigisi and Christine Katana

KENGEN

2016

JNyandigisi@kengen.co.ke

39.

IMPACT OF DRILLING EQUIPMENT QUALITY CONDITION AND EXPERTISE AVAILABILITY ON WELL DRILLING COST- A CASE STUDY OF OLKARIA GEOTHERMAL FIELD.

Paul Kevin Omondi Otieno,

KENGEN

2016

POmondi@kengen.co.ke

40.

IMPACT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT ON PROJECT PERFORMANCE- A CASE OF THE MENENGAI GEOTHERMAL PROJECT.

Anne Wangui Mwangi

GDC

2016

awangui@gdc.co.ke

41.

Improvement of Calculating Formulas for Volumetric Resource Assessment.

Shinya TAKAHASHI, Satoshi YOSHIDA

2016

TAKAHASHI-SH@n-koei.jp
YOSHIDA-ST@n-koei.jp

42.

INFORMATION ACCESS AND UTILIZATION FOR CAPACITY BUILDING IN GEOTHERMAL ENERGY DEVELOPMENT - A CASE FOR THE PROPOSED AFRICA GEOTHERMAL CENTRE OF EXCELLENCE

Bosire Paul

GDC

2016

pbosire@gdc.co.ke

43.

INTEGRATED ANALYSIS OF GEOCHEMICAL AND GEOPHYSICAL DATA FROM ALALOBEDA GEOTHERMAL FIELD NORTHERN AFAR REGION.

Claudio Pasqua, Egidio Armadillo, Daniele Rizzello, Massimo Verdoya, Paolo Chiozzi, Solomon Kebede

Fri, 28 Mar 2014 11:28:38

claudio.pasqua@elc-electroconsult.com

44.

Integrated Geophysical Model For Suswa Geothermal Prospect.

Integrated Geophysical Model For Suswa Geothermal Prospect.pdf

GDC

2016

rmwakirani@gdc.co.ke

45.

INTEGRATION OF ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT IN GEOTHERMAL RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT PROCESS

Philip J. Barasa

KENGEN

2016

pbaraza@kengen.co.ke

46.

INTERPRETAION OF GEOCHEMICAL DATA FROM THE LOW-TEMPERATURE GEOTHERMAL AREA FLJOTIN NORTH ICELAND- COMPARED TO SELECTED GEOTHERMAL SAMPLES FROM RUNGWE TANZANIA

Nyaso A. Makwaya

Ministry of Energy and Minerals

2016

nyasomakwaya@yahoo.com

47.

INVESTIGATION OF GEOLOGICAL STRUCTURES USING ELECTROMAGNETIC DOWN-HOLE TEMPERATURE AND WELL LOGS ON PETREL PLATFORM

Ammon O. Omiti

KENGEN

2016

aomiti@kengen.co.ke

48.

KENGENS EXPERIENCE IN GEOTHERMAL DEVELOPMENT.

Abel K. Rotich

KENGEN

2016

arotich@kengen.co.ke

49.

STATUS OF GEOTHERMAL EXPLORATION IN UGANDA

Abdoulkader Khaireh Allaleh, Kayad Moussa, Hassan Magareh,

(ODDEG)

2016

khaireh.abdoulkader@gmail.com
kayadmoussa@gmail.com
hassan_med2@yahoo.fr

50.

LOAD OPTIMIZATION THROUGH STEAM WASHING IN A FLASH TYPE POWER PLANT-CASE STUDY OF OLKARIA II

Bonface Cheruiyot

KENGEN

2016

bcheruiyot@kengen.co.ke

51.

Technical review of geothermal potential of Ngozi and Songwe prospects

Kenneth B. Alexander, William Cumming and Luigi Marini

2016

keg@middleearthgeo.co.nz

52.

MAINTENANCE OF OLKARIA 1 ADDITIONAL UNITS (AU) POWER PLANT

George Ngomi

2016

gngomi@kengen.co.ke

53.

MANAGEMENT AND DEVELOPMENT ISSUES OF GEOTHERMAL ENERGY IN THE WESTERN BRANCH OF THE AFRICAN RIFT SYSTEM

Mahinda K, Yalire M, Kavuke J., Nkokori N and Simpeze J

2016

mahindageophys@gmail.com

54.

MITIGATING CLIMATE CHANGE THROUGH UTILIZATION OF GEOTHERMAL SOURCED ENERGY

Kamanga T.F, Chisenga C., Tsokonombwe G, Kaonga H.

2016

tamarakamanga@gmail.com

55.

NOISE LEVEL ASSESSMENT IN GEOTHERMAL PROJECTS - A CASE STUDY OF MENENGAI GEOTHERMAL PROJECT

Henry Wamalwa and Rose Kiama

GDC

2016

hwamalwa@gdc.co.ke
rkiama@gdc.co.ke;

56.

Olkaria Geothermal Field reservoir response after 35 years of production

Peter Ouma, Vincent Koech and Felix Mwarania

2016

pouma@kengen.co.ke
vkoech@kengen.co.ke
fmwarania@kengen.co.ke

57.

OPPORTUNITIES FOR DIRECT UTILIZATION OF GEOTHERMAL ENERGY IN EBURRU AREA

Cornelius J. Ndetei

 

cndetei@kengen.co.ke
cndetei@gmail.com

58.

POTENTIAL FOR SMALL SCALE DIRECT APPLICATIONS OF GEOTHERMAL FLUIDS IN KENYAS RIFT VALLEY – AN UPDATE FROM GEOPOWER AFRICA PROJECT

N. O. Mariita, S. Onyango, J. Varet

2016 08:07

nicholas.mariita@dekut.ac.ke
sonyango1931@gmail.com
j.varet@geo2d.com

59.

POWER SYSTEM STABILITY IMPROVEMENT WITH GEOTHERMAL AS MAJOR SOURCE OF POWER IN KENYA

Joel R. Sutter and Peter M. Mburu

GDC

2016

jrutto@gdc.co.ke
pmburu@gdc.co.ke

60.

PREFEASIBILITY STUDY ON DIRECT USE OF GEOTHERMAL ENERGY IN ABATTOIRS AND PROCESSING OF LIVESTOCK PRODUCTS IN KENYA

Bernard Rotich, Bruce Knight, Julian Hutchings, Francis Chabari and Martha Mburu

GDC

2016

brotich@gdc.co.ke

61.

PRELIMINARY MICROGRAVITY MEASUREMENT OF PAKA GEOTHERMAL PROSPECT

Levi Shako and Calistus Ndongoli

GDC

2016

lshako@gdc.co.ke
cndongoli@gdc.co.ke

62.

PROCESSING AND JOINT 1D INVERSION OF MT AND TEM DATA FROM ALALLOBEDA GEOTHERMAL FIELD

Getenesh Hailegiorgis Abebe

GSE

2016

getenesh19@gmail.com
getegio@yahoo.com

63.

PROJECT REVIEW OF THE GEOTHERMAL SPAS CONSTRUCTION

Peketsa Mangi

KENGEN

2016

pmangi@kengen.co.ke

64.

PROPOSED USE OF WELLHEAD ELECTRICAL POWER IN DRILLING GEOTHERMAL WELLS AT OLKARIA

Bernard Kigen

KENGEN

2016/p>

bkigen@kengen.co.ke

65.

Radon Soil Geochemical Survey at Allallobeda Geothermal Prospect

Asfaw Teclu, Melese Mekonen and Weinshet Melese

GSE

2016

a_teclu@yahoo.com

66.

REGIONAL QUANTITATIVE PLAY FAIRWAY ANALYSIS - METHODOLOGY GLOBAL EXAMPLES AND APPLICATION FOR THE EAST AFRICAN RIFT SYSTEM

Nicholas H. Hinz, Mark Coolbaugh, James E. Faulds, Lisa Shevenell, and Pete Stelling

2016

nhinz@unr.edu

67.

ROTARY STEERABLE SYSTEMS TO REDUCE THE COST AND INCREASE THE ENERGY VALUE OF DRILLING DIRECTIONAL WELLS IN OLKARIA GEOTHERMAL FIELD

George Karimi

KENGEN

2016

karimigtheuri@gmail.com

68.

STATUS OF GEOTHERMAL ENERGY EXPLORATION AT BURANGA PROSPECT WESTERN UGANDA.

James Francis NATUKUNDA and Godfrey BAHATI

Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development, Uganda

2016

jfnatukunda@gmail.com
gbahati@gmail.com

69.

STRATIGRAPHY HYDROTHERMAL ALTERATION AND PALEO-THERMAL HISTORY OF THE DOMES AREA OLKARIA GEOTHERMAL FIELD KENYA

Xavier Musonye and Peter Maina

KENGEN

2016

xmusonye@kengen.co.ke

70.

STRUCTURAL CONTROL OF RUNGWE VOLCANIC PROVINCE AND ITS IMPLICATION ON GEOTHERMAL SYSTEM

Albano Mahecha, Geoffrey Mibei and Jacob Mayalla

TGDC

2016

Albano.mahecha@tanesco.co.tz
gmibei@gdc.co.ke
Jacob.mayalla@mem.go.tz.

71.

SUB-SURFACE GEOLOGY AND HYDROTHERMAL ALTERATION OF WELLS LA-9D AND LA-10D OF ALUTO LANGANO GEOTHERMAL FIELD

Selamawit Worku Sisay

GSE

2016

soliethio@yahoo.com

72.

TAKING AFRICAN GEOTHERMAL KNOWLEDGE TO A HIGHER LEVEL – UNU-GTP FOR AFRICA

Ludvik S. Georgsson and Ingimar G. Haraldsson

United Nations University Geothermal Training Programme (UNU-GTP)

2016

lsg@os.is
ingimar.haraldsson@os.is

73

TECHNICAL REVIEW OF GEOTHERMAL POTENTIAL OF KIBIRO GEOTHERMAL PROSPECTS UGANDA-1

Kennteh Alexander,William Cumming and Luigi Marini

2016

keg@middleearthgeo.co.nz

74.

THE SEARCH FOR VOLCANIC HEAT SOURCES IN TANZANIA- A HELIUM ISOTOPE PERSPECTIVE

Michael Kraml, Tillmann Kaudse, Werner Aeschbach and Tanzanian Exploration Team,

GeoThermal Engineering GmbH (GeoT)

2016

kraml@geo-t.de

75.

THE VELIKA CIGLENA GEOTHERMAL BINARY POWER PLANT

Mauro Guercio and Joseph Bonafin

2016

info@turboden.it

76.

THREE DIMENSIONAL INVERSIONS OF MT RESISTIVITY DATA TO IMAGE GEOTHERMAL SYSTEMS- CASE STUDY KOROSI GEOTHERMAL PROSPECT

Mathew Arthur

GDC

2016

marthur@gdc.co.ke
muthurimathew@gmail.com

77.

TOWARDS THE USE OF GIS IN GEOTHERMAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT- A CASE STUDY OF OLKARIA GEOTHERMAL PROJECT

Fred Wekesa and Beatrice Gichini

KENGEN

2016

fwekesa@kengen.co.ke
bgichini@kengen.co.ke

78.

Use of leapfrog geothermal software in data integration and 3D visualization case study of Olkaria Domes Geothermal System

Risper Kandie, Pearce Mbuthia and James Stimac

2016

rkandie@kengen.co.ke
pmbuthia@kengen.co.ke

79.

First surface temperatures survey

Anthony Hinde and Dario Mulazzani

EXERGY

2016

info@exergy.it

80.

ASSESSING HYDROTHERMAL ALTERATION EFFECTS ON BULK-ROCK GEOCHEMISRY

Victor Otieno

KENGEN

2016

votieno@kengen.co.ke
kotienovic@gmail.com

81.

WELLHEAD POWER PLANTS

Yngvi Gudmundsson, Elin Hallgrimsdottir

2016

yg@verkis.is, elin@mannvit.is

82.

CHARACTERIZATION AND SIGNIFICANCE OF INTRUSIVE ROCKS IN GEOTHERMAL RESERVOIRS.

Emmanuel R. Ngetich,

KENGEN

2016

engetich@kengen.co.ke

83.

THREE-DIMENSIONAL GEOPHYSICAL MODELLING OF THE ALALOBEDA GEOTHERMAL FIELD

Daniele Rizzello, Egidio Armadillo, Claudio Pasqua, Massimo Verdoya, Solomon Kebede, Andarge Mengiste, Getenesh HaileGiorgis

2016

rizzello@tellus-explora.eu

84.

FUTURE GEOTHERMAL ENERGY DEVELOPMENT IN THE EAST AFRICAN RIFT VALLEY THROUGH LOCAL COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT

S. Onyango and J. Varet

2016

sonyango1931@gmail.com and jacques.varet@gmail.com

 

Go back to the Top »